From Lines to Patterns

12

September 22, 2013 by JesstheMess

We see lines and patterns in the world around us, in nature and things man-made. Sometimes we don’t realize they’re there: on the street, across the walls, up in the sky, and along the ground on which we walk.”

This weeks WordPress weekly photo challenge is from lines to patterns.

SHARE A PHOTO (OR GALLERY) OF SHAPES, LINES, TEXTURES, OR PATTERNS.

I headed into familiar territory, to the Otago University campus, to look closer than the majestic buildings that normally capture our attention, to notice the lines, textures and patterns to which I am often blind.

It’s crazy… At a glimpse I would not recognise any of these as the Otago University.  These textures, lines and patterns inspired by Evan Zelermyer‘s stunning urban, abstract, and architectural images, shared in his post  “Shape, Line, Texture, Pattern”, are not part of what I associate with a stroll through campus.  My eyes often blind to the detail, yet my blindness not hiding the reality of their existence.

While my eyes are busy taking in the majestic stone work, the elegance of the clock tower, the architecture of various eras, people strolling by, graduates posing amongst family, I am blind to these other details.  It does make one question the details we miss in day to day life.  What do I miss?  To what am I blind?

“Son of man, you dwell in the midst of a rebellious house, who have eyes to see, but see not, who have ears to hear, but hear not, for they are a rebellious house.  [Ezekiel 12:2]

O Lord, open my eyes to see that which is important.  Open my eyes to my need for a Saviour, that I would not walk blind to sin, blind to the grace that you offer.  Open my eyes to see the amazing details of your amazing grace in my life.

12 thoughts on “From Lines to Patterns

  1. craftymadre says:

    I love your photos. The black and white works really well to highlight the geometry of the images.

  2. […] Illuminating the Invisible posted a series of black and white photos from the Otago University campus and wrote about her experience in such a beautiful way: https://illuminatingtheinvisible24.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/from-lines-to-patterns/. […]

  3. Bronwyn Lea says:

    I love the things you capture!

  4. […] From Lines to Patterns | illuminating the invisible […]

  5. […] From Lines to Patterns | illuminating the invisible […]

  6. […] From Lines to Patterns | illuminating the invisible […]

Leave a Reply

© J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' (2012-2014). Excerpts, images and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s creator and author is strictly prohibited.

Enter your email address to follow 'illuminatingtheinvisible' and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Weekly Wild Photo Challenge Award!

