One Shot, Two Ways

3

August 11, 2013 by JesstheMess

Inspired by the unusually warm weather we have been having and this weeks Weekly Photo Challenge theme, One Shot, Two Ways, I headed off on a bit of a photo expedition.  Three children were away celebrating friends birthdays, so Miss Six and I decided to head off to explore the much talked about Nichols Creek (known for its Glow Worms).  She loves an adventure and doesn’t mind meandering along while I take some pics.

On arriving at our destination I was soon reminded how vital preparation is for a photo shoot. I knew that our destination was going to be a great place to practice some slow shutter speed shots amongst the low light and moving water.  Amongst the chaos preparing for kid parties I even remembered to grab the tripod.  I did not, however, check that the camera attachment for the tripod was in the gear bag that I had with me.  My One Shot, Two Ways challenge just got a whole lot harder.

I decided to find rocks to work as tripod replacements.  Finding a place to balance the camera was not easy!  The access steps were a logical start, but that meant that this big ugly branch cut the picture in two.  I would need to explore further.  I gave up on the rocks, instead resorting back to the tripod, and with a bit of balance and ingenuity I managed to get some unobstructed shots of this beautiful cavern.

This weeks lesson was definitely about ‘doing the best with the equipment you have’.  In the future I will be double checking my equipment before heading back to do some more playing up in this beautiful spot.

Leith Valley, Dunedin

As a deer pants for flowing streams

 so pants my soul for you, O God.

Psalm 42:1

3 thoughts on “One Shot, Two Ways

  1. The Rider says:

    I love your post, thanks!

Leave a Reply

© J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' (2012-2014). Excerpts, images and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s creator and author is strictly prohibited.

Enter your email address to follow 'illuminatingtheinvisible' and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Weekly Wild Photo Challenge Award!

