Poor…Needy…?

2

June 12, 2013 by JesstheMess

This little bundle of cuteness was just adorable, snuggled on the soft blanket in the warm room.  He was quite at home chatting away to the camera, pushing with his feet against the back of the couch, already leaning toward more.  In him a spark of life, desiring to move, grab…  So much life ahead.

baby

It is hard to recognise him as one born early, little, needing support to feed and grow.  He has flourished.  The Lord has blessed him and he has grown and progressed in surprising ways.  It is easy to forget those days, instead carrying on expecting the normal milestones.  But this day I found myself remembering, and thankful.  Thankful for the reminder that as this little one was poor and needy and in need of divine intervention, so am I.

As a fit and healthy adult who is relatively independent, one could say I am far from poor and needy.  Outward appearances can be deceiving!  A glimpse inside would reveal a needy heart, a broken heart, a wanting heart…  I might achieve a great accomplishment, gain great things but the satisfaction is momentary.  It is not enough. Soon I long for more.  Then consider the outer.  This body that gets older, wears out, deteriorates and we know that as much as we would like to avoid it the end point is death, sooner or later.  All the human effort to maintain this physical body has a limit, the end point is clear, I will be poor and needy.

The bible reminds me I am poor and needy as well.  It reminds me that we are separated from God and that our sin problem is the obstacle that alienates us.  This separation leaves me poor and needy and this separation leads to death.  Forever life can only be found in connection to God, who is eternal.  All the good that we do cannot fix this problem.  Our good and right acts are like filthy rags.

All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags; we all shrivel up like a leaf, and like the wind our sins sweep us away.

Isaiah 64:6

I am fleeting, poor and needy!

This little boy reminded me of what is easy to forget.  For when times are hard, when poverty comes, or I am emotionally bankrupt, I know I am poor and needy.  I forget that even when times are good, I am poor and needy.  Yet while I am wanting, fleeting and deteriorating, God in his riches has provided a solution.

For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sake he became poor, so that you through his poverty might become rich.

2 Corinthians 8:9

I am poor and needy, but I have a hope of something better.

And so, this little boy, laying down his weary head after all his charm reminds me to cry out to God, because I am poor and needy.

poor and needy

© J.Smith Photography and ‘illuminating the invisible’ (2012-2013). 

2 thoughts on “Poor…Needy…?

  1. Bronwyn Lea says:

    So beautifully captured.

Leave a Reply

© J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' (2012-2014). Excerpts, images and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s creator and author is strictly prohibited.

Enter your email address to follow 'illuminatingtheinvisible' and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Weekly Wild Photo Challenge Award!

