Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward

1

February 28, 2013 by JesstheMess

I love watching my children and how they always anticipate moving forward. Each step, each milestone another joy as they strive to be bigger, older…

climbing upwardsMoving forward seems to come so easy, natural.  They don’t sit around dwelling on what could have been, they are out there spotting the next huge obstacle in their path, no matter how ridiculously big it is.

I can learn from my darlings and their eager desire to press forward.  No doubt the realities of life will at some stage slow their eagerness.  But this childish pressing forward is perhaps a picture of the kind of forward striving that should replace the apathy that meanders into a life all too easily.

Life’s disappointments, the monotonous day in day out reality seem to wear one down.  A heart once passionate for Christ gets caught up in the details of today and slowly but surely drifts.  Believing, but no longer, eager delighting.  Far from the forward striving of my darlings.

The Apostle Paul knew about striving, he met Jesus, and from then on pursued Him with a passion.  He knows he ought not to be apathetic, that he has not yet taken hold of the prize.

Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 3:13-14 (NIV)

pressing onA striving forward with eyes on the goal.  What is the goal?  Sharing a glorious inheritance that will never spoil or fade with Jesus Christ, the King of Creation himself.  This is not something to be apathetic about, this is amazing!  The King of Creation sharing his blessed inheritance with his people.  Does Paul strive to earn it?  No.  Jesus Christ purchased it through his sacrifice at the cross, but Paul knows that this sacrifice is for those that persevere, that follow Christ, that strive to know Him more.  In Hebrews it talks of moving forward to maturity…

Therefore let us move beyond the elementary teachings about Christ and be taken forward to maturity…  Hebrews 6:1 (NIV)

I don’t want to be content with trusting Christ for salvation, then sit around waiting for His return as if it had no impact on today.  I need a child like faith, that strives with enthusiasm to know Him more, to glean all I can, to grow in relationship, to persevere… trusting that he will carry on the good work He began in me.  And those days of apathy, I bring them to the foot of the cross of the one who laid down his life for me, who took the penalty for ALL my sins (including apathy) and praise Him that in this I see my need of a Saviour.

I shift my eyes back to what He has done for me and move forward to maturity, moving forward in dependance on Christ.

This post is a part of the Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward“…share a picture that says FORWARD to you.”  

© J.Smith Photography and ‘illuminating the invisible’ (2012-2013).

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward | illuminating the invisible […]

Leave a Reply

© J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' (2012-2014). Excerpts, images and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s creator and author is strictly prohibited.

Enter your email address to follow 'illuminatingtheinvisible' and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Weekly Wild Photo Challenge Award!

