Home

Leave a comment

February 14, 2013 by JesstheMess

Home is where the heart is.

Where is your heart?

Earlier this week I spent a day processing apricots.  A local fruit shop had buckets of seconds selling for half the usual price, so in a burst of enthusiasm I picked up three.  I got a double take from husband as I walked in the door, I had told him about the crazy busy week ahead right before I left.  Here I was walking in with a load of work.  Anyone who deals with summer fruit knows that seconds don’t last for a second day.  They need dealt with now.

The thing is this was not an obstacle for me.  The week might have been busy, but I could think of nothing more exciting to do with my three-year old for the afternoon.  You see, summer, fruit, making jam, preserving… it all speaks of home to me.  I grew up in a rural setting with an abundance of fruit trees within easy walk.  Summer was busy, but rewarding as we climbed ladders, picked fruit, stoned, sliced… The chunks of bread with delicious freshly made jam on top, and freezer topped full, brought a sense of satisfaction.  This was home.  With apricots up to my elbows, preschooler lessons on handling sharp knives and pieces of apricot flying everywhere, I am home because my heart responds to the childhood memories.

But wait… is that home?  This is a word that brings deep emotions.  It is so much more than  replicating memories.   It is a word that carries the feeling of deep comfort, of safety and of contentment.  It is not a place, for in the midst of a chaotic summer with washing piled high, disorder in every direction and constant demands this place did not feel like home.  I longed for rest and it wasn’t here.

What about my family?  Is that home, being with those I love.  Away from home, free of the chores was a lot of fun and yet it is not home.  Sitting back in someone else’s home does not bring the same rest, nor trying to sleep in strange beds.  It just doesn’t feel like home.

Home is more than jam making, more than family.  My heart’s satisfaction deeply craves more than this.  Home is where the heart is.  Yes, my heart lingers on romantic memories of summer fruit, of family and at times this wonderful place we live.  In fact, sometimes my heart lingers too long and it is all I see.  But as I examine the depths of my heart there is always a longing for more, for a home that’s never quite there.  Moments of ‘home’ visit and then disappear.  I wonder if it’s because God, our Maker, has placed within each one of us a deep longing for home.  Home with Him.

Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. (John 14:23 ESV)

God the Father & His Son, Jesus, promises to make their home with us, if we love Him.  Trust Him, love Him and He will reside in your heart.  Bringing peace, comfort, hope, but most of all life forever more, with Him.  What’s more, He promises a time when Jesus will return and take us home to be with Him.  Where this spiritual reality will become physical.  Where the heart is truly at home and we will be with Him face to face.

For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face.
(1 Corinthians 13:12a ESV)

Home.

Mt Cargill, Dunedin

This post is a part of the Weekly Photo Challenge: Home.  Take a look at other images that inspire thoughts of home. 

© J.Smith Photography and ‘illuminating the invisible’ (2012-2013). Excerpts, images and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to J.Smith Photography and ‘illuminating the invisible’ with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

© J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' (2012-2014). Excerpts, images and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s creator and author is strictly prohibited.

Enter your email address to follow 'illuminatingtheinvisible' and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Weekly Wild Photo Challenge Award!

