Creativity Reflected

1

November 15, 2012 by JesstheMess

This week I decided to take note of the invisible amongst the clutter of our city.  I am often frustrated with the interruption of human impact in the city and long for more open spaces.  As I wandered, and clicked the shutter, my mind wandered to the layers evident in city life.  This day I found myself photographing buildings and structures, drawn to ponder who had designed them, and what shaped the ideas that led to these various forms.  I also began to note places where the current generation had added comment or artistic expression. It made me realise how any photograph taken would only capture what others have already made.

Isn’t this so in all our work?  As I photograph a mural that adorns a wall under a bridge,

One of many colourful murals found on the walls and bus stops of our city.

I recognise that the art is the artists more than it is mine.  It’s my photograph, but it owes much gratitude and credit to the person who painted it.  So it is with any building or object created by skilled hands.  But wait… in any photo I capture, is there not already the composition before me.  I simply capture it with a click of the shutter.  The depth of the detail is already marked out, already decided.  My creativity of composition only captures the creativity that already exists.  The creativity of the Creator.  As a human made in His image (Genesis 1:27) I can be creative reflecting the creativity of my Creator, but my creativity is limited to working with the resources He has placed before me.

Layers of creativity can be uncovered as we see a photo of a grand building of intricate design.  We can delight in the creativity expressed in its current presentation and surrounds, we can delight in the creativity of the architect to come up with such a design, marvel at the skill of the artists who brought that design to reality and most of all praise the One who created the materials and artists.

Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name… [Psalm 29:2 ESV]

Come on a brief walk with me through a few of Dunedin’s gems.  I do not know all the artists involved, but marvel with me at the expressions of creativity and in the process marvel at the Creator who allows us to express creatively.

© J.Smith Photography and ‘illuminating the invisible’ (2012)

One thought on “Creativity Reflected

Leave a Reply

© J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' (2012-2014). Excerpts, images and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to J.Smith Photography and 'illuminating the invisible' with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s creator and author is strictly prohibited.

Enter your email address to follow 'illuminatingtheinvisible' and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Weekly Wild Photo Challenge Award!

